What is Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA)?

What is Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA)?

Posted at: 26 Jan 2021

What is CSLA?

The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provides fully-funded scholarships for master's degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.


CSLA grantees will receive financial and administrative support for the following: 

  • Pre-academic preparation via summer schools Program-related travel
  • Tuition and mandatory university fees
  • Monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses
  • Accident and sickness insurance during expenses program
  • Funds for educational materials and professional development
  • Attendance at a regional Scholarship Programs conference
  • Accommodations during the application process and the duration of the grant for applicants with disabilities


Applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible country Demonstrate maturity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential
  • Have a bachelor's degree awarded  and an excellent academic record Demonstrate professional experience in a relevant area
  • Demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English German or French) at a level required for admission by host universities
  • Be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school
  • Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or to continue supporting open society development

The awards are available to citizens of the following countries: 

  • Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan 
  • Belarus
  • Cambodia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea Ethiopia
  • Laos Libya
  • Myanmar/Burma
  • Republic of Congo South Sudan
  • Sudan Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan 
  • Uzbekistan

Awards are available for study in the following areas

  • Communications, Journalism & Media Culture History & Society
  • Development Studies
  • Economics
  • Education Management & Leadership
  • Environment & Natural Resource Management
  • Gender Studies Human Rights
  • Law (including Human Rights law)
  • Politics & International Studies
  • Public Health Policy & Health Management
  • Public Policy & Administration
  • Social Work & Social Policy

Application Process:

Open/Close Date: The application is open annually

How To Apply:

Interested applicants must complete an online or paper CSLA application and submit it along with supporting documentation to be considered for CSLA support. However, all candidates are strongly encouraged to apply online if possible using Submittable, an online platform. To apply online, please register on Submittable and then follow the instructions

Supporting Documents:

Photocopy of passport picture page or national ID Resume or Curriculum Vitae (CV) in English


***Disclaimer: WEduShare does not own the content. Our purpose is purely to help spread the information. Although every effort is made to keep the information true, accurate, complete and appropriate, we make no representations nor warranties.